Curriculum and Instruction

Regina-TeutschRegina Teutsch

The Office of Curriculum and Instruction is one facet under the Department of Teaching and Learning.  Along with, the Offices of Special Education and State & Federal Programs we are committed to providing the students of Warren with curriculum and instruction that builds core academic knowledge and complex thinking skills.  Our PK-12 curriculum follows Ohio’s New Learning Standards in each content area.  Our teachers, supported by the ELA and Math Coordinators and School Improvement Supervisors developed new units, aligned materials, and created assessments aligned to the new standards and state assessments.  Through the Coordinators, School Improvement Supervisors, and math and reading coaches we continue to plan and prepare our staff to meet the rigorous demands of Ohio’s New Learning Standards which will be measured through a comprehensive assessment system.

As we strive for high standards for all so that our students achieve at high levels across all disciplines, the Office of Curriculum and Instruction focus our efforts in the following areas:

  • Implementation of curriculum that meets expectation of Ohio’s New Learning Standards
  • Use of Research-Based Instructional “Best Practice” Strategies
  • Develop of a system of interventions to meet the needs of all students
  • Continuous monitoring of our progress towards district goals outlined in the OIP (Ohio Improvement Process) Plan
  • Data-Driven Decision Making

These goals will be supported through:

  • Research-based curriculums in Math (MCP K-8) and ELA (Literacy Collaborative through Ohio State University grades K-5) supported by our Math and ELA coaches
  • Continual refinement of units and alignment of resources
  • Integration of literacy skills in all content areas
  • Technology to enhance instruction and support student learning and achievement
  • A comprehensive assessment system to monitor student growth and progress

The Office of Curriculum and Instruction will support administrators and teachers to meet these goals through:

  • Creating an environment of professional growth and learning
  • Cultivating opportunities for collaboration
  • Providing teachers with content specific expectations an best practices
  • Professional development in Formative Instructional Practices (FIP)

For more information on Ohio’s New Learning Standards, please visit:

http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Ohio-s-New-Learning-Standards

For information on Ohio’s Next Generation of Assessments, please visit:

http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Testing/Ohio-s-State-Tests

Warren City School District is committed to providing our students with the best educational opportunities.   The Office of Curriculum and Instruction continually strives to research and seek out those practices and programs that will best meet the needs of our students and enhance their well-being.  A strong school is the foundation for a strong community.  Together we can help students develop those skills needed to be college and career ready and to meet the challenges of the 21st Century.

For ways you can help your child meet the demands of the new standards, please visit:

http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Ohio-s-New-Learning-Standards/Ohios-New-Learning-Standards/Parent-Guides-to-Student-Success.

 

Jason Braddock
Supervisor of Curriculum

Email Jason
x7230

Dan Thorpe
Supervisor of Curriculum

Email Dan
x7201

Nancy Hripko
Data Specialist

Email Nancy
x7214

Danette Currey
Secretary A
Sharron Napier
Secretary B
Karen Zagorec
Supervisor of School Improvement

Email Karen
x5158

Megan Marino
Supervisor of School Improvement

Email Megan
x5158

Jennifer Walker
Supervisor of School Improvement

Email Jenn
x5158

Kelly Hutchison
Early Childhood Coordinator
Jacqueline Lawrence
ELA Coordinator
Paula Yauger
ELA Coordinator

Email Paula
x7122

Patricia Fisher
Math Coordinator
Nikki Littleton
Math Coordinator

Email Nikki
x7336

Kathleen Gavalier
Principal on Special Assignment

 

Coach Grade Level Email Building
Rob Cowell Math K-2 robert.cowell@neomin.org Jefferson
Adrianne Thomas Math 3-8 adrianne.thomas@neomin.org Jefferson
Natalie Grayson ELA K-2 natalie.grayson@neomin.org Jefferson
Meghan Watson ELA 3-8 meghan.watson@neomin.org Jefferson
Julie McConnell Math K-2 julie.mcconnell@neomin.org Lincoln
Chris Wilson Math 3-8 christopher.wilson@neomin.org Lincoln
Danielle Mailach ELA K-2 danielle.mailach@neomin.org Lincoln
Jennifer Holbrook ELA 3-8 jennifer.holbrook@neomin.org Lincoln
Jackie Sabatino Math K-2 jackie.sabatino@neomin.org McGuffey
Heather Guthrie Math 3-8 heather.guthrie@neomin.org McGuffey
Caren Purcell ELA K-2 caren.purcell@neomin.org McGuffey
Michelle Rodgers ELA 3-8 michelle.rodgers@neomin.org McGuffey
Natasha Galbraith Math K-2 natasha.galbraith@neomin.org Willard
Sheri Munno Math 3-8 sheri.munno@neomin.org Willard
Erikka Sampson ELA K-2 erikka.sampson@neomin.org Willard
Terri Leone ELA 3-8 terri.leone@neomin.org Willard